This is the "Home" page of the "A-Z Resource List" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

A-Z Resource List 

This guide contains a full list of resources organized by name.
Last update: Jan 29th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.fmcc.edu/a-z  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates \"ShareThis\"

Home            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Description of Databases

Alphabetical List of Resources

 

FT = Full text is available. CA = Citation or Abstract only

ABI/INFORM Global FT - Nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economics, management techniques, advertising, marketing, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and business and executive profiles. Includes The Wall Street Journal.

Academic Search Complete FT - The world’s largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection.

Associates Programs Source FT - Contains nearly 1,000 full-text journals as well as 11 full-text books. This database is designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content.

Business & Company Resource Center FT - Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, industry news and information.

Business Source Complete FT - Provides full text for more than 8,800 serials, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.  The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles for the world’s 10,000 largest companies.

Chronicle of Higher Education FT- Source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

CINAHL Plus with Fulltext FT - Provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Fulltext covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals are also included. CINAHL Plus with Fulltext provides full text 337 of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, and research instruments.

Computer & Applied Sciences FT - Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It contains collected knowledge on traditional engineering challenges & research, and is a resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.

Computer Source FT - Contains nearly 300 full text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.

CQ Researcher FT - Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries of the issues.

Credo Reference Collection FT- A complete general reference collection with 100 titles included. Its full-text content covers every major subject from the world’s best publishers of reference.

Custom Newspapers FT - A collection of over 300 newspapers, both national and international.

Education Research Complete FT - Offers the world’s largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.

Environment Complete FT - Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

ERIC FT - The Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.

General Science Collection - Provides information on all aspects of the scientific world and offers full-text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science publications including Archaeology, Astronomy, Discover, National Geographic, National Wildlife, Popular Science, Science News and Scientific American. Subject areas covered include the observation, description, identification, and experimental investigation of phenomena, and the application of science to industrial or commercial objectives. GSC also includes Great Scientific Achievements of the Twentieth Century from Salem Press.

HarpWeek FT
- The full-image electronic version of Harpers Weekly for 1857-1865, the Civil War years.

Health Source FT - This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.

HealthWatch (Alternative Medicine) FT - This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.

Health & Wellness Resource FT - Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology, Inc.’s consumer health video library.

History Study Center - A collection of digitized primary and secondary sources for the study of history. It covers global history from ancient times to the present day. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips. It provides over 40,000 documents and articles, with over 50 reference works, 3,000 images and links to 2,000 Web sites.

Humanities E-Book Project FT
- Fully searchable collection of high-quality books in history, recommended and reviewed by historians.

Humanities International Complete FT - Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.

Literature Resource Center FT - Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline. Articles and essays are taken from literary journals, books, and reference sources.

MagillOnLiterature PLUS FT - Plot summaries & critical analyses of literary works; author biographies & essays.

Masterfile Premier FT - Provides full text for nearly 1,950 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,650 titles.

MEDLINE CA - All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. Abstract/Citations only.

Military & Government Collection FT - Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.

National Newspapers FT - Coverage of 27 newspapers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.

netLibrary FT - Online books (E-books) on a variety of topics including business, computers, medicine and more.

New England Journal of Medicine FT - New medical research findings, review articles, and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice.

Newspaper Source Plus FT - Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center FT - One-stop source for information on social issues. Access book and reference book viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles

Professional Development Collection FT - Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

PsycARTICLES FT - A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences FT - A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

Regional Business News FT - Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Religion & Philosophy Collection FT - A comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Research Library FT - Magazine and journal coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, etc.

ScienceDirect FT - Access to over 1800 Elsevier journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.

SunyPress EBooks FT - SUNY Press titles published between 2000-2004.

Twayne’s Author Series FT - Discussions of an author’s works & a chronology of the author’s life.  Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books.

Vocational & Career Collection FT - Provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel & Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.

 
 

How to use the A-Z List

Do you use the same databases all the time? Do you know their names by heart?

Well then, this page is for you! Click on any of the tabs above to see the database we have here at the library that begin with that letter of the alphabet. We can tell you that the tabs D, F, J, K, Q, T, U, W, X, Y, and Z currently do not have any databases listed (maybe at some point in the future they will).

Electronic Journal List

Use this list to see what periodicals are available through the library's various databases.

 

My Profile

Profile Image
Evans Library & Learning Commons
 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait