This is the "Home" page of the "Books & Other Materials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Books & Other Materials  Tags: catalog fm evans library suny netlibrary reference books encyclopedia interlibrary loan public library sunypress worldcat e-books  

Use this guide to help you find books, electronic books, and other materials for your research.
Last update: Feb 11th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.fmcc.edu/findbooks  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print/Mobile Page
  

Table of Contents

Books

Articles

Multimedia Resoures

E-Reserves

Guides & Citation Help

Library Information

Faculty Services

Regional History 

      

    Catalog Descriptions

    Below are decriptions of the catalogs represented by the tabs at the top of the page. If you're not sure which one to use, check here first.

    FM Catalog - The FM Catalog gives to access to the materials (books, videos, etc.) that are located here at the Evans Library (FM).

    All SUNY Libraries - The SUNY Union Catalog allows you to search all of the libraries of SUNY’s 64 campuses all at the same time. You can also search individual campus libraries (including FM’s) if you would like. This catalog is good for search for materials you know FM does not own. You go to many of these campues and borrow materials directly by using the Direct Access Program. You can also request materials from these libraries thought Interlibrary Loan.

    WorldCat - WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. It is very useful when you are looking for a specific book and for requesting materials through Interlibrary Loan.

    Local Public Libraries - Similiar to the SUNY Union Catalog, this catalog allows you to search all local public libraries at the same time. You can also search individual public library catalogs if you would like.

    netLibrary - Provides access to 1,405 e-books on a variety of subjects.

    Reference Books - The Credo Reference Collection is a general reference collection. Its full-text, aggregated content covers many major subjects from the world’s best publishers. It has a lot of neat tools and features to help you find your information.

    Encyclopedia Britannica - The online academic version of the famous encyclopedia. Lots of neat features. Great place to get background information on possible research topics.

    Humanities E-Books - A collection of over 1,700 full-text titles. Great resource for History and English classes.

    SUNYPress - A collection of books published by the SUNYPress between 2000-2006. This collection is available online only to SUNY faculty, staff, and students (like you).

    Newset Titles at FM - We are always adding to our collection. Find out what the newest titles are by using this tab.

     

     

     

     

     

     

        
       

      How to use this guide

      The tabs above give you access to the catalogs available for searching for books, electronic books (e-books), online reference books, and other materials. Brief descriptions are provided in the left column of this page so you can decide which catalog best fits your needs. There are also video tutorials of how to use the FM catalog and how to search all SUNY libraries. Links to the tutorials are located beneath this box.

      You can use the Interlibrary Loan tab above to connect to our system for requesting materials from other libraries.

       

          

        Tutorials

         

        Contact a Librarian!

        Got a question? Need an answer? Contact a Reference Librarian...we're here to help you!

        In Person: during normal operating hours at the Reference Desk.

        By Phone: 518-762-4651 x5611

        By Email: libinfo@fmcc.edu

        By Chat: Ask a Question 24/7!

            
           
          Description

            Loading content... please wait